In 2022, new Texas car seat laws will go into effect. These laws are designed to keep children safer while traveling in cars. Here is a summary of the new laws:
1. Children under the age of 2 must be secured in a rear-facing car seat.
2. Children between the ages of 2 and 5 must be secured in a car seat or booster seat.
3. Children under the age of 8 must be restrained by a safety belt or child restraint system, unless they are taller than 4’9″.
Texas Forward-facing car seat law
As of September 2017, Texas law requires all children under the age of eight to ride in a child safety seat or booster seat.
The new car seat law is based on recommendations from the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA). The NHTSA recommends that children ride in rear-facing car seats until they are at least two years old. After that, they should ride in forward-facing car seats with a harness until they are at least four years old.
After age four, children can graduate to using a booster seat. Once they are big enough, they can use a seat belt without a booster seat. The NHTSA recommends that children use booster seats until they are at least eight years old or until they are big enough to use a seat belt properly.
Seat belts should always be worn correctly, with the lap belt low across the thighs and the shoulder belt fitting snugly across the chest. Children under 13 should always ride in the back seat.
What are the penalties?
Violating the new car seat law will be a misdemeanor offense. The first offense will result in a fine of up to $250. A second offense will result in a fine of up to $500, and a third or subsequent offense will result in a fine of up to $750.
Seat belt laws in Texas
The law requires all drivers and passengers in a vehicle to be secured by a seat belt at all times, unless the passenger is exempt. All occupants of a vehicle under the age of 18 are required to be properly secured in a child safety seat or booster seat as specified by law. If you’re caught driving without a seat belt in Texas, you can be fined up to $200.
Rear-Faced Seat Law
In 2022, the law in Texas will require all children under the age of two to ride in a rear-facing car seat. This is an update from the current law, which requires all children under the age of one to ride in a rear-facing car seat.
Why the Change?
There are a few reasons for this change. First, rear-facing car seats are much safer for young children. They protect the child’s head, neck, and spine in the event of a crash. Second, most children outgrow their infant car seat by age one, so they would need to upgrade to a bigger seat anyway.
What if My Child Is Taller than Two?
If your child is taller than two, but not yet four, they can still ride in a rear-facing car seat as long as they fit according to the manufacturer’s height and weight limits.
Child booster seat laws in Texas
It will change in 2022. The new law will require children under the age of two to be secured in a rear-facing car seat. Children between the ages of two and four must be secured in a forward-facing car seat with a harness. Children over the age of four must be secured in a belt-positioning booster seat.
Can my child sit in front of me in Texas?
No. Texas law prohibits children under the age of 13 from riding in the front seat of a vehicle.
Is it illegal to leave children alone in the car?
Yes. It is illegal to leave a child under the age of seven alone in a car for any length of time.
What are the height and weight requirements for booster seats in Texas?
There are no height or weight requirements for booster seats in Texas.
When can I turn my baby forward-facing in Texas?
You can turn your baby forward-facing when they are at least one year old and weigh at least 20 pounds.