Starting in 2022, all children in New Jersey will be required to ride in car seats until they reach the age of 8 years old. This new law was passed earlier this year and is designed to improve safety for young children while traveling in cars. It’s important to note that the law does not apply to taxis or other types of transportation, only when driving your own car. Here we will discuss the details of the new law and what you need to do to comply with it.
Penalties for Failing to Comply with car seat law in New Jersey
If you are caught driving without a car seat for a child under the age of eight, you will be subject to a fine of $50. The second offense will result in a fine of $100. For each subsequent offense, the fine will increase by $100, up to a maximum of $500. In addition, you may also have your driver’s license suspended for up to 90 days.
New Jersey Forward-facing car seat law
Under the new law, all children under the age of two must ride in a rear-facing car seat. Once they reach the age of two, they can then move to a forward-facing car seat with a harness. Children between the ages of four and eight must use a booster seat.
New Jersey Rear-facing Car Seat Law
All children under the age of two must ride in a rear-facing car seat. Once they reach the age of two, they can then move to a forward-facing car seat with a harness. Children between the ages of four and eight must use a booster seat.
Exceptions to the NJ Car Seat Law
There are a few exceptions to the new law. If a child is taller than four feet nine inches, they are not required to use a booster seat. Additionally, if a child has a medical condition that prevents them from using a car seat or booster seat, they are also exempt from the law. A note from a doctor will be required in these cases.
Can children stop using booster seats in New Jersey?
Yes, once a child reaches the age of eight or is taller than four feet nine inches, they no longer need to use a booster seat in New Jersey.
Can a child sit in the front seat in New Jersey?
No, all children under the age of thirteen must ride in the back seat of a car in New Jersey.
What types of car seats are allowed in New Jersey?
All car seats and booster seats must meet federal safety standards. In addition, they must be properly installed and used according to the manufacturer’s instructions.
New Jersey Taxi Car Seat Laws
The new car seat law does not apply to taxis or other types of transportation, only when driving your own car.
How will the New Jersey Car Seat Laws be enforced?
Police officers will be able to stop you if they see that you are not following the car seat law. They may give you a warning or issue a ticket.
Can you smoke in the car with children in New Jersey?
No, it is against the law to smoke in a car with a child under the age of eighteen. This includes cigarettes, cigars, pipes, and electronic smoking devices. You can be fined up to $500 for smoking in a car with a child present.
Law on leaving children unattended in New Jersey
It is against the law to leave a child under the age of seven unattended in a car, even for a short period of time. If you are caught doing this, you may be fined up to $500.
Seat belt law in New Jersey
All drivers and passengers in a car must wear seat belts. This includes children who are over the age of eight and adults. You can be fined up to $50 for not wearing a seat belt.
When can a child stop using a car seat in NJ?
A child can stop using a child safety seat once they turn eight years old or are taller than four feet nine inches.
What is the weight requirement for a booster seat in NJ?
There is no weight requirement for a booster seat in NJ. All children between the ages of four and eight must use a booster seat.