Idaho’s car seat laws are changing in 2022! In this blog post, we will discuss the new changes and what you need to do to make sure your child is safe while traveling in a car. The new law states that children who are under the age of 2 must be in a rear-facing car seat, and children who are between the ages of 2 and 4 must be in a forward-facing car seat with a harness. Failure to comply with these laws could result in a fine of up to $100. Make sure you are up-to-date on Idaho’s car seat laws so that you can keep your family safe on the road!
Penalties for violating car seat laws
Penalties for violating car seat laws in Idaho will increase in 2022. The maximum fine for a first offense will be $100, and the maximum fine for a second or subsequent offense will be $500. Violators will also face up to 30 days in jail.
The changes are part of an effort to improve highway safety in Idaho. In 2019, there were nearly 500 deaths on Idaho roads, and many of those were preventable.
“We want to do everything we can to make our roads safer,” said Idaho Transportation Department Director Brian Ness. “Increasing penalties for violators of car seat laws is one step in that direction.”
Idaho’s car seat laws are already some of the most stringent in the nation. All children under the age of eight must be properly restrained in a car seat or booster seat. That includes infants and toddlers in rear-facing car seats, and children in forward-facing car seats or booster seats.
The only exception is for children who are four feet nine inches tall or taller, or who weigh more than 40 pounds. Those children can be restrained in a seat belt.
The changes to Idaho’s car seat laws will go into effect on July 1, 2022.
Can my child sit in front of me in Idaho?
Yes, your child can sit in front of you in Idaho as long as they are in an appropriate car seat for their age and weight. The state law requires that all children under the age of eight must be properly restrained in a child safety seat or booster seat when riding in a vehicle. If your child is over the age of eight, they must be properly restrained in a seat belt.
Idaho Forward-facing Car Seat Law
In 2022, all children who are under the age of two must be secured in a rear-facing car seat. Children who are over the age of two and weigh less than 40 pounds must also be secured in a rear-facing car seat. All other children must be secured in a forward-facing car seat with a five-point harness. Children who are over the age of four and weigh more than 40 pounds may be secured in a belt-positioning booster seat.
Idaho law requires that all car seats be properly installed and used according to the manufacturer’s instructions. Car seats must also be inspected by a certified Child Passenger Safety Technician to ensure they are installed correctly.
Idaho Rear-facing Car Seat Law
As of January 2022, all children under the age of two must ride in a rear-facing car seat while in an automobile. This law is meant to protect young children from serious injuries or death in the event of a car crash. All parents and guardians must make sure their child is properly secured in a rear-facing car seat that is installed correctly before driving.
Booster Seat Regulations in Idaho
In Idaho, children who have outgrown their car seats must ride in a booster seat until they are at least eight years old OR have reached the height of four feet nine inches. Lap and shoulder belts fit most children properly when they reach this age and size, but some still need a booster to sit correctly in a vehicle seat.
Idaho’s child passenger safety (CPS) law requires all children under the age of 16 to be properly restrained while riding in a motor vehicle. This includes infants and toddlers in car seats, as well as older kids in booster seats or seat belts.
Buses, taxis, and Uber car seat laws
In Idaho, all buses must have a car seat for each passenger under the age of four. This law applies to both public and private buses, including school buses. All taxi and Uber drivers must also have a car seat for each passenger under the age of four. If you’re planning on taking a bus, taxi, or Uber with your young child, be sure to bring a car seat.
Idaho Car Seat Laws in Trucks
In Idaho, it is against the law to ride in the back of a pickup truck without being properly secured in a car seat. This law will go into effect on January 01, 2022. If you are caught violating this law, you could be fined up to $500.