In 2022, Arizona’s car seat laws will change. Here is what you need to know:
Starting in 2022, all children aged eight and under must be secured in a child restraint system while riding in a motor vehicle. This applies to both front and back seats.
If your child is aged four or five, they must ride in a forward-facing child restraint system unless they are over 57 inches tall. If your child is age two or three, they must ride in a rear-facing child restraint system unless they are over 49 inches tall.
Forward-Facing Car Seat Law
In 2022, all children aged four and five must ride in a forward-facing child restraint system unless they are over 57 inches tall.
Rear-facing seat laws
In 2022, all children aged two and three must ride in a rear-facing child restraint system unless they are over 49 inches tall.
Exceptions to the Car Seat Law
There are a few exceptions to the car seat law. If you have a medical condition that prevents you from using a child restraint system, you can provide documentation from a licensed physician.
If your child is riding in an emergency vehicle or is being transported for law enforcement purposes, they do not need to be in a child restraint system.
The car seat law does not apply to vehicles that are not required to have seat belts, such as buses and farm vehicles.
Fines for violating Arizona Child Safety Seat Regulations
If you do not follow the child restraint systems law, you can be fined up to $500.
Children between 8 and 17 years old
In 2022, all children between the ages of eight and 17 must be properly secured by a seat belt while riding in a motor vehicle.
Leave Child in Car Law in Arizona
As of January 2022, it is against the law to leave a child in a car unattended in Arizona. The maximum penalty for this offense is six months in jail and/or a $500 fine.
If the child suffers from heat-related injuries, the penalties increase to two years in jail and/or a $5000 fine. This law is in place to protect children from being forgotten or left alone in hot cars.
Leaving a child unattended in a car is never a good idea, but it can be especially dangerous in Arizona due to the high temperatures. If you must leave your child in the car, make sure to take extra precautions to keep them safe.
For example, leave the car running with the air conditioner on, or park in a shady spot. And always remember to keep an eye on your child and never leave them alone for more than a few minutes.
Booster Seat Laws and weight requirements
The new law requires all children under the age of eight to be properly restrained in a booster seat or child restraint systems that is appropriate for their height and weight. The changes are based on recommendations from the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration.
The previous law only required children under the age of five to be in a booster seat, but did not have any weight requirements. The new law will go into effect on January first, 2022.
There are a few exceptions to the new law, such as if a child is taller than four feet nine inches or weighs more than eighty pounds. In these cases, the child may be restrained by a seat belt instead of a booster seat.
The changes to the law are designed to keep children safer in the event of a car crash. Booster seats have been shown to reduce the risk of serious injuries by fifty-seven percent for children between the ages of four and eight.
Can your child sit in front of you?
Yes, in Arizona your child can sit in front of you as long as they are in an age- and size-appropriate car seat. All children under the age of two must be properly secured in a rear-facing car seat.
After the age of two, or once they reach the highest weight or height limit allowed by their car seat manufacturer, they can ride in a forward-facing car seat with a harness. Once they reach the height and weight limits for that seat, or turn eight years old (whichever comes first), they can ride in a booster seat.
All children under the age of eight must be properly restrained while riding in a vehicle.
Can you leave a child alone in a car seat in Arizona?
The answer to this question is a bit complicated. While there is no specific law in Arizona that addresses leaving a child alone in a car seat, there are some general laws that could apply.
For example, it is against the law to leave a child under the age of six unattended in a car for more than five minutes. Additionally, if the child is under two years old, they must be in a rear-facing car seat.
What is the law for booster seats in Arizona?
The law in Arizona states that all children under the age of eight must be properly secured in a booster seat while riding in a motor vehicle. Booster seats are designed to raise a child up so that they can properly wear a seat belt, and thus be better protected during a car accident.
What are the height and weight requirements for a booster seat in Arizona?
In Arizona, the height and weight requirements for a booster seat are as follows:
- Your child must be at least 40 pounds.
- Your child must be less than 57 inches tall.
When can kids get out of car seat AZ?
Arizona car seat laws are changing in 2022! The new law states that children under the age of two must be in a rear-facing car seat. Children between the ages of two and four can be in a forward-facing car seat with a harness. All children under the age of eight must be in a booster seat.